Max Cooper has a new EP on the way, titled Chromos.

Chromos follows on from his extensive Emergence project and sees the Belfast-born artist continuing to explore the symbiosis of music and science with visual representations of data.

Max Cooper (courtesy of LittleBig Agency)

The opening tracks, ‘Chromos’ and ‘Coils of Living Synthesis,’ are beautifully delicate soundscapes of organic life inspired by genetic research undertaken at the Babraham Institute. The former also features an accompanying VR-video by long-time collaborator Andy Lomas, the production of which used a simulated model for predicting what DNA looks like inside a cell.

(courtesy of The Babraham Institute)

Distant chords and subtle glitches emerge from a hypnotic groove in ‘Molten Landscapes,’ while ‘Four Tone Reflections’ builds a vast sonic spectrum over 12 minutes. For the ‘Chromos’ remix, Cosmin TRG turns the fragility of the original into a warped techno cut.

Mikhail Spivakov, Research Group Leader at the Babraham Institute, spoke on the collaboration:

“As a biologist. I am passionate to find ways to make our science more accessible, to
help people understand what we do and why we do it. It was amazing to see how the project took real data from the lab and turned it into a multidimensional experience which allows people to get more closely acquainted with our DNA, what it does and how it looks, making it almost palpable.”


01. Chromos
02. Coils of Living Synthesis
03. Molten Landscapes
04. Four Tone Reflections
05. Chromos (Cosmin TRG Mutation)

The Chromos EP is scheduled for May 26 release on Max Cooper’s label Mesh Records.

Tour dates:

12 May – Offenbach, MTW
13 May – Brussels, Nuits Botanique [Emergence] + Gent, Kompass
19 May – London, Fabric
24 May – Lyon, Bellona Club
25 May – Rome, Spring Attitude Festival
2 June – Copenhagen, Distortion Festival
17 June – Beirut, The Grand Factory
24 June – Paris, Concrete

via xlr8r